Who’s Who

unison-logoUNISON is member-led. The union’s elected lay officers work in partnership with a staff team of officials. Scotland’s lay officers are elected annually by the Scottish Council, a meeting of delegates from all branches.

Snr full time officers | Lay officers | Committees | Service groups | Self Organised Groups | NEC

Senior Full Time Officers

The Scottish Management Team (SMT) is led by the Scottish Secretary and includes Scottish Organisers (also known as Regional Managers). The team has a shared responsibility for ensuring that the Region delivers each of the union’s four National Objectives. Each Regional Manager leads in specific areas and they manage teams of organising, support and specialist staff.

Mike Kirby
Mike Kirby
Scottish Secretary
0800 0 857 857
m.kirby@unison.co.uk
Dave Watson Dave Watson
Head of Policy and Public Affairs
Objective 2 – Negotiating and bargaining on behalf of members and promoting equality
Objective 3 – Campaigning and promoting UNISON on behalf of members
Manages the Bargaining and Campaigns Team
0141 342 2840
d.watson@unison.co.uk
Blog: http://unisondave.blogspot.com
John Gallacher John Gallacher
Head of Bargaining
Objective 1 – Recruiting, organising representing andretaining members
Manager of the Scotland West Organising Team
0141 342 2824
j.gallacher@unison.co.uk
Peter Hunter Peter Hunter
Scottish Organiser
Objective 1 – Organising, learning, activist development, equality, legal services
0800 0 857 857
p.hunter@unison.co.uk

 

Senior Lay Officers

Lilian Macer Lilian Macer
Scottish Convener
0800 0 857 857
Lilian works in the health service
Stephen Smellie Stephen Smellie
Depute Convener:
Stephen works for South Lanarkshire Council.
Elaine Duffy Elaine Duffy
Treasurer
0800 0 857 857

Top

Committee Chairs and Secretaries

Communications and Campaigns

John Stevenson Chairperson
John Stevenson
john.stevenson@unison-edinburgh.org.uk
0131 558 7488
Jane Aitchison Vice-Chairperson
Jane Aitchison

jane.aitchison@blueyonder.co.uk
Trisha Hamilton Secretary
Trisha Hamilton
(Job share Communications Officer Scotland)
t.hamilton@unison.co.uk
dannyphillips Danny Phillips
(Job share Communications Officer Scotland)
0141 342 2877
d.phillips@unison.co.uk
 Learning and Organising
Chairperson
Lawrence Hunter
Peter Hunter Secretary
Peter Hunter
Scottish Organiser
0800 0 857 857
p.hunter@unison.co.uk
  Health and Safety
Scott Donohoe Chairperson
Scott Donohoe (Chair)
Secretary
 International
Sam Macartney Chairperson
Sam Macartney
sam.macartney@
glasgowcityunison.co.uk
W 0141 552 7069, m 07803952264.
Simon Macfarlane Secretary
Simon Macfarlane
s.macfarlane@unison.co.uk
0800 0 857 857
 Welfare
Adanna Brown Chair
Adanna Brown
adanna.b.mccue15@hotmail.co.uk
Secretary

Top

Service Groups

Electricity
Gerry Crawley Secretary
Gerry Crawley

0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk
Fire and Rescue
Derek Jackson Derek Jackson
Interim Branch Secretary
Derek.Jackson@firescotland.gov.uk
Gerry Crawley Lead officer
Gerry Crawley
0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk
Further Education
Chris Grrenshields Chairperson
Chris Greenshields
John Gallacher John Gallacher
0141 342 2824
j.gallacher@unison.co.uk
Health
Tam Waterson Chairperson
Tom Waterson
Willy Duffy Secretary
Willie Duffy
w.duffy@unison.co.uk
Higher Education
Colin Jones Co-Chairs
Ellen Gibson
Colin Jones
Emma Phillips Secretary
Emma Phillips
e.phillips@unison.co.uk
Local Government
Mark Ferguson Chairperson
Mark Ferguson
Inez Teece Vice Chairs
Inez Teece 
Carol Ball Carol Ball
Douglas Black Secretary
Douglas Black
d.black@unison.co.uk
 Stephen Smellie Social Work Issues Group
Chair: Stephen Smellie
 Carol Ball Education Issues Group
Chair: Carol Ball
Police
George McIrvine Chairperson
George McIrvine
Michelle Brady Vice-Chair
Michelle Brady
Gerry Crawley Secretary
Gerry Crawley

g.crawley@unison.co.uk
Community
Ian Williamson Chairperson
Ian Williamson
Cheryl McCormick Vice Chair
Cheryl McCormick
Deborah Dyer Secretary
Deborah Dyer
d.dyer@unison.co.uk
0800 0 857 857
Water
Chairperson
Steve Scott
steve.scott@scottishwater.co.uk
Gerry Crawley Secretary
Gerry Crawley

0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk
Top

Self Organised and Other Groups

Black Members
Rayika Suleman Chairperson
Rakiya Suleiman
Peter Sharma Secretary
Peter Sharma
Disabled Members
Tony Slaven Chair
Tony Slaven
Vice-Chair
Jackie Anderson
John Nisbet Secretary
John Nisbet
Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender
Co-Convenors
Willie Docherty
Lynn Sheridan
National Reps
Elaine Duffy and Norma Black
Women’s Committee
Davena Rankin Davena Rankin
Chair
Viv Thomson Viv Thomson
Vice Chair
Retired Members Committee
Sue Chalmers Chairperson
Sue Chalmers
01387 267647
Marie Maccrae Secretary
Marie Maccrae
Young Members Committee
Katrina RankinRyan Boyle Chair:
Katrina Rankin
Vice Chair:
Ryan Boyle
Wendy Hudson Secretary
Wendy Hudson

Top

National Executive Council Members

UNISON’s National Executive Council (NEC), made up of around 60 lay elected members, is the union’s supreme governing body between national conferences.

UNISON Scotland has five NEC members selected by postal ballot of all members. There are also NEC seats for Service Groups and Additional Member seats elected on a UK basis.

The number of NEC members Scotland is entitled to is based on the number of members. Members are also elected on the basis of proportionality, that is to reflect the percentage of women membership.

Scotland NEC seats
Maggie Cook Maggie Cook
(Falkirk Council)
Jim McFarlane Jim McFarlane
(Dundee City)
Kate Ramsden Kate Ramsden
(Aberdeenshire)
Davena Rankin Davena Rankin
(Glasgow Caledonian University)
Stephen Smellie Stephen Smellie
(South Lanarkshire)
UK Health seat
Gordon McKay Gordon McKay
(Ayrshire and Arran Health)
Gordon is also National Senior Vice President 2017-2018