Who’s Who

unison-logoUNISON is member-led. The union’s elected lay officers work in partnership with a staff team of officials. Scotland’s lay officers are elected annually by the Scottish Council, a meeting of delegates from all branches.

Snr full time officers | Lay officers | Committees | Service groups | Self Organised Groups | NEC

Senior Full Time Officers

The Scottish Management Team (SMT) is led by the Scottish Secretary and includes Scottish Organisers (also known as Regional Managers). The team has a shared responsibility for ensuring that the Region delivers each of the union’s four National Objectives. Each Regional Manager leads in specific areas and they manage teams of organising, support and specialist staff.

Mike Kirby
  Mike Kirby
Scottish Secretary

0800 0 857 857
m.kirby@unison.co.uk
Dave Watson   Dave Watson
Head of Policy and Public Affairs
Objective 3 – Campaigning and promoting UNISON on behalf of members
Manages the Bargaining and Campaigns Team
0141 342 2840
d.watson@unison.co.uk
Blog: http://unisondave.blogspot.com
John Gallacher   John Gallacher
Head of Bargaining
Objective 2 – Negotiating and bargaining on behalf of members and promoting equality
0141 342 2824
j.gallacher@unison.co.uk
Peter Hunter   Peter Hunter
Head of Organising
Objective 1 – Organising, learning, activist development, equality, legal services
0800 0 857 857
p.hunter@unison.co.uk

 

Senior Lay Officers

Lilian Macer   Lilian Macer
Scottish Convener
0800 0 857 857
Lilian works in the health service
Stephen Smellie   Stephen Smellie
Depute Convener:
Stephen works for South Lanarkshire Council.
Elaine Duffy   Elaine Duffy
Treasurer
0800 0 857 857

Top

Committee Chairs and Secretaries

Communications and Campaigns

John Stevenson   Chairperson
John Stevenson
john.stevenson@unison-edinburgh.org.uk

0131 558 7488
Jane Aitchison   Vice-Chairperson
Jane Aitchison

jane.aitchison@blueyonder.co.uk
Trisha Hamilton   Secretary
Trisha Hamilton
(Job share Communications Officer Scotland)

t.hamilton@unison.co.uk
dannyphillips   Danny Phillips
(Job share Communications Officer Scotland)

0141 342 2877
d.phillips@unison.co.uk
 Learning and Organising
Lawrence Hunter   Chairperson
Lawrence Hunter
Nancy Kelly   Secretary
Nancy Kelly 
0800 0 857 857
n.kelly@unison.co.uk
  Health and Safety
Scott Donohoe   Chairperson
Scott Donohoe (Chair)
    Secretary
 International
Sam Macartney   Chairperson
Sam Macartney
sam.macartney@

glasgowcityunison.co.uk
W 0141 552 7069, m 07803952264.
Simon Macfarlane   Secretary
Simon Macfarlane
s.macfarlane@unison.co.uk

0800 0 857 857
 Welfare
Adanna Brown   Chair
Adanna Brown
adanna.b.mccue15@hotmail.co.uk
Fiona Montgomery   Secretary
Fiona Montgomery
f.montgomery@unison.co.uk

Top

Service Groups

Electricity
Gerry Crawley   Secretary
Gerry Crawley

0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk
Fire and Rescue
Derek Jackson   Derek Jackson
Branch Secretary
Derek.Jackson@firescotland.gov.uk
Gerry Crawley   Lead officer
Gerry Crawley
0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk
Further Education
Chris Grrenshields   Chairperson
Chris Greenshields
John Gallacher   Secretary
John Gallacher
0141 342 2824
j.gallacher@unison.co.uk
Health
Tam Waterson   Chairperson
Tom Waterson
Matt McLaughlin   Secretary
Matt McLaughlin 
m.mclaughlin@unison.co.uk
Higher Education

Ellen Gibson
  Co-Chairs
Shirley Kirk  

Ellen Gibson

Emma Phillips   Secretary
Emma Phillips
e.phillips@unison.co.uk
Local Government
Mark Ferguson   Chairperson
Mark Ferguson
Inez Teece
Carol Ball
  Vice Chairs
Inez Teece..Carol Ball
Douglas Black   Secretary
Douglas Black
d.black@unison.co.uk
 Stephen Smellie   Social Work Issues Group
Chair: Stephen Smellie
Carol Ball   Education Issues Group
Chair: Carol Ball
Police
George McIrvine   Chairperson
George McIrvine
Michelle Brady   Vice-Chair
Michelle Brady
Gerry Crawley   Secretary
Gerry Crawley

g.crawley@unison.co.uk
Community
Ian Williamson   Chairperson
Ian Williamson
Cheryl McCormick   Vice Chair
Cheryl McCormick
Deborah Dyer   Secretary
Deborah Clarke
d.clarke@unison.co.uk

0800 0 857 857
Water
    Chairperson
Steve Scott
steve.scott@scottishwater.co.uk
Gerry Crawley   Secretary
Gerry Crawley

0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk
Top

Self Organised and Other Groups

Black Members
Rayika Suleman   Chairperson
Rakiya Suleiman
    Secretary
Rojan Subramani 
Disabled Members
Tony Slaven   Chair
Tony Slaven
Vice-Chair

Jackie Anderson
John Nisbet   Secretary
John Nisbet
Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender
Willie Docherty
Lynn Sheridan
  Co-Convenors

Willie Docherty

.

.

Lynn Sheridan

Elaine Duffy

Norma Black

  National Reps
Elaine Duffy..Norma Black
Women’s Committee
Davena Rankin   Davena Rankin
Chair
Viv Thomson   Viv Thomson
Vice Chair
Retired Members Committee
Sue Chalmers   Chairperson
Sue Chalmers
01387 267647
Marie Maccrae   Secretary
Marie Maccrae
Young Members Committee
Simon Stuart   Chair:
Simon Stuart
Vice Chair:
Danni Graham
Wendy Hudson   Secretary
Wendy Hudson
w.hudson@unison.co.uk

Top

National Executive Council Members

UNISON’s National Executive Council (NEC), made up of around 60 lay elected members, is the union’s supreme governing body between national conferences.

UNISON Scotland has five NEC members selected by postal ballot of all members. There are also NEC seats for Service Groups and Additional Member seats elected on a UK basis.

The number of NEC members Scotland is entitled to is based on the number of members. Members are also elected on the basis of proportionality, that is to reflect the percentage of women membership.

Scotland NEC seats – see their facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/unisonscotnec/
Maggie Cook   Maggie Cook
(Falkirk Council)
Jim McFarlane   Jim McFarlane
(Dundee City)
Kate Ramsden   Kate Ramsden
(Aberdeenshire)
Davena Rankin   Davena Rankin
(Glasgow Caledonian University)
Stephen Smellie   Stephen Smellie
(South Lanarkshire)
NEC UK Health seat
Gordon McKay   Gordon McKay
(Ayrshire and Arran Health)

Gordon is also National Senior Vice President 2017-2018