Who’s Who

UNISON is member-led. The union’s elected lay officers work in partnership with a staff team of officials. Scotland’s lay officers are elected annually by the Scottish Council, a meeting of delegates from all branches.

Senior full time officers | Senior lay officers | Committees | Service groups |
Self Organised Groups | NEC

Senior Full Time Officers

The Scottish Management Team (SMT) is led by the Scottish Secretary and includes Scottish Organisers (also known as Regional Managers). The team has a shared responsibility for ensuring that the Region delivers each of the union’s four National Objectives. Each Regional Manager leads in specific areas and they manage teams of organising, support and specialist staff.

Mike KirbyMike Kirby
Scottish Secretary
0800 0 857 857
m.kirby@unison.co.uk

 

Dave WatsonDave Watson
Head of Policy and Public Affairs
Objective 3 – Campaigning and promoting UNISON on behalf of members
Manages the Bargaining and Campaigns Team
0141 342 2840 d.watson@unison.co.uk
Blog: http://unisondave.blogspot.com

John GallacherJohn Gallacher
Head of Bargaining
Objective 2 – Negotiating and bargaining on behalf of members and promoting equality
0141 342 2824
j.gallacher@unison.co.uk

Peter HunterPeter Hunter
Head of Organising
Objective 1 – Organising, learning, activist development, equality, legal services
0800 0 857 857
p.hunter@unison.co.uk

Senior Lay Officers

Lilian MacerLilian Macer
Scottish Convener
0800 0 857 857
Lilian works in the health service

Stephen Smellie
Stephen Smellie
Depute Convener:
Stephen works for South Lanarkshire Council.

Elaine DuffyElaine Duffy
Treasurer
0800 0 857 857
e.duffy@unison.co.uk

 

Top

Committee Chairs and Secretaries

Communications and Campaigns

John StevensonChairperson
John Stevenson
john.stevenson@unison-edinburgh.org.uk
0131 558 7488

Jane Aitchison
Vice-Chairperson
Jane Aitchison

jane.aitchison@blueyonder.co.uk

Trisha HamiltonSecretary
Trisha Hamilton
(Job share Communications Officer Scotland)
t.hamilton@unison.co.uk

dannyphillipsDanny Phillips
(Job share Communications Officer Scotland)
0141 342 2877
d.phillips@unison.co.uk

 

Learning and Organising

Lawrence HunterChairperson
Lawrence Hunter

 

Nancy KellySecretary
Nancy Kelly 
0800 0 857 857
n.kelly@unison.co.uk

 

Health and Safety

Scott Donohoe
Chairperson
Scott Donohoe

 

Malcolm BurnsSecretary
Malcolm Burns

 

 

International

Sam MacartneyChairperson
Sam Macartney
sam.macartney@glasgowcityunison.co.uk
W 0141 552 7069, m 0780395226

Simon MacfarlaneSecretary
Simon Macfarlane
s.macfarlane@unison.co.uk
0141 342 2859

 

Welfare

Elizabeth Rankin
Chair
Elizabeth Rankin

 

Fiona MontgomerySecretary
Fiona Montgomery
f.montgomery@unison.co.uk

 

Top

Service Groups

Electricity

Gerry CrawleySecretary
Gerry Crawley
0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk

 

Fire and Rescue

Derek JacksonDerek
Jackson
Branch Secretary
Derek.Jackson@firescotland.gov.uk

 

Gerry CrawleyLead officer
Gerry Crawley
0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk

 

Further Education

Chris Grrenshields
Chairperson
Chris Greenshields

 

John GallacherSecretary
John Gallacher
0141 342 2824
j.gallacher@unison.co.uk

 

Health

Tam Waterson
Chairperson
Tom Waterson

 

Matt McLaughlinSecretary
Matt McLaughlin
m.mclaughlin@unison.co.uk

 

Willy DuffyWillie Duffy
Head of Bargaining for Health
w.duffy@unison.co.uk

 

Higher Education

Co-Chair
Shirley Kirk

 

Ellen GibsonCo Chair
Ellen Gibson

 

Emma PhillipsSecretary
Emma Phillips e.phillips@unison.co.uk

 

 

Local Government

Mark Ferguson
Chairperson
Mark Ferguson

 

Inez Teece
Vice Chair
Inez Teece

 

Carol Ball
Vice Chair
Carol Ball

 

Johanna BaxterHead of Local Government Bargaining
Johanna Baxter j.baxter@unison.co.uk

 

Tracey DallingHead of Local Government Organising
Tracey Dalling
t.dalling@unison.co.uk

 

Stephen SmellieSocial Work Issues Group
Chair:
Stephen Smellie

 

Carol BallEducation Issues Group
Chair:
Carol Ball

 

Police

George McIrvine
Chairperson
George McIrvine

 

Michelle BradyVice-Chair
Michelle Brady

 

Gerry CrawleySecretary
Gerry Crawley

g.crawley@unison.co.uk

 

Community

Ian Williamson
Chairperson
Ian Williamson

 

Deborah DyerSecretary
Deborah Clarke
d.clarke@unison.co.uk
0800 0 857 857

 

Water

Steve ScottChairperson
Steve Scott
steve.scott@scottishwater.co.uk

 

Gerry CrawleySecretary
Gerry Crawley
0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk

 

Top

Self Organised and Other Groups

Black Members

Rayika SulemanChairperson
Rakiya Suleiman

 

Abubakar YakubuVice-Chairperson
Abubakari Yakubu

 

Rojan SubramaniSecretary
Rojan Subramani 

 

 

Disabled Members

Tony SlavenChair
Tony Slaven
Vice-Chair, Jackie Anderson

 

John NisbetSecretary
John Nisbet

 

Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender

Watty Gaffney

Co-Convenor
Watty Gaffney
WGaffney@unisonglasgowclyde.com

 

Lynn Sheridan
Co-Convenor
Lynn Sheridan

 

Elaine Duffy
National Rep
Elaine Duffy

 

Michale CraigNational Rep
Michael Craig

 

 

Women’s Committee

Davena Rankin
Chair
Davena Rankin

 

Viv ThomsonVice Chair
Viv Thomson

 

 

Retired Members Committee

Sue ChalmersChairperson
Sue Chalmers
01387 267647

 

Marie MaccraeSecretary
Marie Maccrae

 

Young Members Committee

Simon Stuart

Chair:
Simon Stuart
Vice Chair: Danni Graham

 

Wendy HudsonSecretary
Wendy Hudson
w.hudson@unison.co.uk

Top

National Executive Council Members

UNISON’s National Executive Council (NEC), made up of around 60 lay elected members, is the union’s supreme governing body between national conferences.

UNISON Scotland has five NEC members selected by postal ballot of all members. There are also NEC seats for Service Groups and Additional Member seats elected on a UK basis.

The number of NEC members Scotland is entitled to is based on the number of members. Members are also elected on the basis of proportionality, that is to reflect the percentage of women membership.

Scotland NEC seats – see their facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/unisonscotnec/

Maggie Cook
Maggie Cook
(Falkirk Council)

 

Jim McFarlane
Jim McFarlane
(Dundee City)

 

Kate Ramsden
Kate Ramsden
(Aberdeenshire)

 

Davena Rankin
Davena Rankin
(Glasgow Caledonian University)

 

Stephen SmellieStephen Smellie
(South Lanarkshire)

 

 

NEC UK Health seat

Gordon McKayGordon McKay
(Ayrshire and Arran Health)
Gordon is also National President of UNISON 2018-2019