Who’s Who

unison-logoUNISON is member-led. The union’s elected lay officers work in partnership with a staff team of officials. Scotland’s lay officers are elected annually by the Scottish Council, a meeting of delegates from all branches.

Snr full time officers | Lay officers | Committees | Service groups | Self Organised GroupsNEC

Senior Full Time Officers

The Scottish Management Team (SMT) is led by the Scottish Secretary and includes four Scottish Organisers (also known as Regional Managers). The team has a shared responsibility for ensuring that the Region delivers each of the union’s four National Objectives. Each Regional Manager leads in specific areas and they manage teams of organising, support and specialist staff.

 Mike Kirby Mike Kirby 
Scottish Secretary
0800 0 857 857
m.kirby@unison.co.uk
 Dave Watson Dave Watson 
Scottish Organiser (Bargaining and Campaigns)
Objective 2 – Negotiating and bargaining on behalf of members and promoting equality
Objective 3 – Campaigning and promoting UNISON on behalf of members
Manages the Bargaining and Campaigns Team
0141 342 2840
d.watson@unison.co.uk 
Blog: http://unisondave.blogspot.com
 John Gallacher John Gallacher 
Scottish Organiser (Recruitment and Organising)
Objective 1 – Recruiting, organising representing and retaining members
Manager of the Scotland West Organising Team
0141 342 2824
j.gallacher@unison.co.uk
 Peter Hunter Peter Hunter 
Scottish Organiser
Objective 1 – Organising, learning, activist development, equality, legal services
0800 0 857 857
p.hunter@unison.co.uk

Top

Senior Lay Officers

 Lilian Macer Lillian Macer 
Scottish Convener 
0800 0 857 857 
Lillian works in the health service
 Stephen Smellie Stephen Smellie 
Depute Convener: 
Stephen works for South Lanarkshire Council.
 Pat Rowland Pat Rowland 
Treasurer
0800 0 857 857 
p.rowland@unison.co.uk 

Top

Committee Chairs and Secretaries

  Communications and Campaigns
 John Stevenson Chairperson
John Stevenson
john.stevenson@unison-edinburgh.org.uk
0131 558 7488
 Jane Aitchison Vice-Chairperson
Jane Aitchison
 
jane.aitchison@blueyonder.co.uk
 Trisha Hamilton
dannyphillips
Secretary
Trisha Hamilton
 (Job share Communications Officer Scotland)
t.hamilton@unison.co.ukDanny Phillips (Job share Communications Officer Scotland)
0141 342 2877
d.phillips@unison.co.uk
   Learning and Organising
Chairperson
Lawrence Hunter
 Peter Hunter Secretary
Peter Hunter 
Scottish Organiser
0800 0 857 857
p.hunter@unison.co.uk
   Health and Safety
Scott Donohoe Chairperson
Scott Donohoe (Chair)
 Diane Anderson Secretary
Diane Anderson

0800 0 857 857
diane.anderson@unison.co.uk
   International
 Sam Macartney Chairperson
Sam Macartney
sam.macartney@glasgowcityunison.co.uk
W 0141 552 7069, m 07803952264.
Simon Macfarlane Secretary
Simon Macfarlane
s.macfarlane@unison.co.uk
0800 0 857 857
Welfare
Adanna Brown Chair
Adanna Brown
adanna.b.mccue15@hotmail.co.uk
Diane Anderson Secretary
Diane Anderson

diane.anderson@unison.co.uk
0800 0 857 857

Top

Service Groups

   Electricity
 Danny Gillespie Chairperson
Danny GillespieVice Chair
John Dodds
 Gerry Crawley Secretary
Gerry Crawley

0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk
   Fire and Rescue
 Derek Jackson Derek Jackson 
Interim Branch Secretary Derek.Jackson@firescotland.gov.uk
Gerry Crawley Lead officer Gerry Crawley
0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk
   Further Education
 Chris Grrenshields Chairperson
Chris Greenshields
John Gallacher John Gallacher 
0141 342 2824
j.gallacher@unison.co.uk
   Health
Tam Waterson Chairperson
Tom Waterson
 Willy Duffy Secretary
Willie Duffy
w.duffy@unison.co.uk
   Higher Education
Colin Jones Co-Chairs
Ellen Gibson
Colin Jones
Emma Phillips Secretary
Emma Phillips
e.phillips@unison.co.uk
   Local Government
Mark Ferguson Chairperson
Mark Ferguson
Inez Teece
Carol Ball
Vice Chairs
Inez Teece, Carol Ball
 Douglas Black Secretary
Douglas Black
d.black@unison.co.uk
 Social Work Issues Group
Stephen Smellie
Chair: Stephen Smellie
Education Issues Group
Carol Ball
Chair: Carol Ball
Police
 George McIrvine Chairperson
George McIrvine
 Michelle Brady Vice-Chair
Michelle Brady
 Gerry Crawley Secretary
Gerry Crawley

g.crawley@unison.co.uk
   Community
Ian Williamson Chairperson
Ian Williamson
Cheryl McCormick Vice Chair
Cheryl McCormick
Deborah Dyer Secretary
Deborah Dyer
d.dyer@unison.co.uk
0800 0 857 857
   Water
Chairperson
Steve Scott
steve.scott@scottishwater.co.uk
Gerry Crawley Secretary
Gerry Crawley

0800 0 857 857
g.crawley@unison.co.uk
 Top

Self Organised and Other Groups

   Black Members
Rayika Suleman Chairperson
Rakiya Suleiman
 Peter Sharma Secretary
Peter Sharma
   Disabled Members
Chair 
Tony Slaven
Vice-Chair 
Jackie Anderson
 John Nisbet Secretary
John Nisbet
   Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender
Co-Convenors
Willie Docherty
Lynn Sheridan
National Reps
Elaine Duffy and Norma Black 
Women’s Committee
Davena Rankin Davena Rankin
Chair
 Viv Thomson Viv Thomson
Vice Chair
 Retired Members Committee
Sue Chalmers Chairperson
Sue Chalmers
01387 267647
 Marie Maccrae Secretary
Marie Maccrae
 Young Members Committee
Katrina RankinRyan Boyle Chair: 
Katrina Rankin
 

Vice Chair: 
Ryan Boyle

 Wendy Hudson Secretary
Wendy Hudson

Top

National Executive Council Members

UNISON’s National Executive Council (NEC), made up of around 60 lay elected members, is the union’s supreme governing body between national conferences.

UNISON Scotland has five NEC members elected by postal ballot of all members. There are also NEC seats for Service Groups and Additional Member seats elected on a UK basis.

The number of NEC members Scotland is entitled to is based on the number of members. Members are also elected on the basis of proportionality, that is to reflect the percentage of women membership.

 Janr Carolan  Jane Carolan (Chairs NEC Policy Committee)
(Housing and Care Scotland)
 Gordon McKay  Gordon McKay
(Ayrshire and Arran Health)
 Davena Rankin Davena Rankin 
(Glasgow Caledonian University)
 maggiecook  Maggie Cook 
(Falkirk Council) Low Paid Member Seat
 Naomi Junnor Naomi Junnor
Glasgow City Branch